Buy Official Merchandise!
Forumwarz is the first "Massively Single-Player" online RPG completely built around Internet culture.

You are currently looking at Flamebate, our community forums. Players can discuss the game here, strategize, and role play as their characters.

You need to be logged in to post and to see the uncensored versions of these forums.

Civil Discussion
Switch to Role-Playing Civil Discussion
Politics copyright questions

Wylin

Avatar: 19712 Thu Mar 26 21:15:20 -0400 2009

[Brainfreeze]

Level 69 Troll

Causing Jealousy On The Internet On A Daily Basis.

For images, is it illegal to use images of old art? Like say from the 1800’s? Or would that be free now? If not, is there a certain amount of modification that would make it acceptable?

Acid Flux

Avatar: 6767 Tue Mar 17 11:41:54 -0400 2009

[Country Kitchen an-
d Flea Market
]

Level 35 Troll

KYOUBAI IS SUPER-SERIOUS BUSINESS

I work in the photography industry, so allow me to offer some input.

Any photograph taken prior to 1938 is automatically public domain.

Any photograph taken prior to 1978 is public domain if the original studio is no longer in business.

Also: Any image that has been voluntarily released into the public domain can be used. There are a lot of websites that provide public domain content.

Wikipedia lists a lot of resources here.

Acid Flux edited this message on 03/12/2009 4:10PM

____

Avatar: 143340 Fri Mar 27 18:24:34 -0400 2009

Level 35 Troll

“Problem Child IV”

What about movies? I’ve been wanting to use images from a well known 1935 film.

Kute Kyoko

Avatar: 158239 Tue Mar 17 00:35:37 -0400 2009

[Vacation Hideaway]

Level 4 Camwhore

“Like a Virgin”

Wylin Posted:

For images, is it illegal to use images of old art? Like say from the 1800’s? Or would that be free now? If not, is there a certain amount of modification that would make it acceptable?