Buy Brownie Points
Forumwarz is the first "Massively Single-Player" online RPG completely built around Internet culture.

You are currently looking at Flamebate, our community forums. Players can discuss the game here, strategize, and role play as their characters.

You need to be logged in to post and to see the uncensored versions of these forums.

Civil Discussion
Switch to Role-Playing Civil Discussion
Rant Obsolescence and a Simple Battle System?

Zi

Avatar: 10822 Wed Dec 24 04:02:22 -0500 2008

Level 34 Camwhore

“Legs Wide Open”

I’m starting this thread from a line of thinking that occurred to me in another thread.

Keep in mind that I’m not a savvy programmer, so I’m speaking from pure perception and conjecture here without consideration for practicality. I also understand that with games like these, the endgame is really all about a single optimization build.

Once you reach the level cap, there’s really only one way to build your character. I feel like the individual stats are imbalanced, with offense being the most important of all. The purpose of this discussion is to come up with ideas to make some of the other stats more important. Basically, my ideas are geared towards making the game more challenging. Here are my ideas in a semi-organized list:

Point A: Imbalanced Stat Value

1. Introduce critical hits, ranging from 1.5x damage to 3x damage. Luck would effect the chance of critical hits occurring, but certain attacks and items might have specific critical hit properties. I wonder if these should stack with luck or not. It would encourage more unique builds if they did not stack, I believe.

2. Items should take damage simply by going into battle. This would make upkeep more relevant. Of course they wouldn’t take as much damage as actually getting hit, but they would still require repair even if you can one-shot forums.